Site Loader
Hugo Award Winners by World Science Fiction convention

Hugo Award Winners

Hugo award winners are those beautiful science fiction books that are chosen by the members of the world science fiction convention (“Worldcon”). These awards are also presented at the World science Fiction Convention. The annual world science fiction convention is sponsored by the World Science Fiction Society (“WSFS”) which has trademarked the Hugo Awards. The Hugo awards started in 1953 and presented annually since 1955.

The Hugo Awards are dedicated to Mr. Hugo Gernsback who was founder of Amazing Stories which was the first major American science fiction magazine in 1926. Every April the shortlist list of 5 finalist out of many is announced and is sent for final balloting. By the end of July, the members of the Worldcon cast their final vote and then the winners are announced at the Hugo ceremony who receive a special trophy. All the members of Worldcon can vote. The membership is paid.

Hugo Award Winner of 2019

The Calculating Stars: A Lady Astronaut Novel

Name: The Calculating Stars: A Lady Astronaut Novel

Author: Mary Robinette Kowal

Publisher: Tor Books (July 3, 2018)

Language: English

ISBN: 978-0765378385

Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1.2 x 8.3 inches

Book Type: Paperback 432 Pages

Finalists of Hugo Award in 2019

Record of a Spaceborn Few (Wayfarer) by Becky Chambers
Revenant Gun (3) (Machineries of Empire) by Yoon Ha Lee
"Space Opera" by Catherynne M. Valente
"Spinning Silver: A Novel" by Naomi Novik
Trail of Lightning (1) (The Sixth World) by Rebecca Roanhorse

Books and Places

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.